The Huguenots were French Protestant followers of John Calvin in the 16th and 17th centuries. After many decades of heavy persecution, they were finally granted tolerance by King Henry IV in 1598 in his Edict of Nantes. That tolerance ended in 1685 when King Louis XIV in his Edict of Fontainbleau revoked the Edict of Nantes. Tens of thousands of Huguenots fled France, many immigrating to America, especially to Charles Towne (Charleston), South Carolina. The family of Daniel Trezevant (with its Celtic/Cornish name) became early settlers near Charleston in 1685. The subsequent ten generations of one branch of the Trezevant family has reflected their time and place for over three hundred years of American history.

Robert Warren Trezevant

January 2014

Huguenot Cross


From tres-van, the hill dwelling;
or from Treseveau in Gwennap;
or from tres-veauy, the little dwelling

Patronymica Cornu-Britannica

The Huguenot Cross is composed of a Maltese Cross with four arms of equal length, representing the four Gospels. Each arm becomes progressively broader as it leaves the center, symbolizing the believer’s transformation (2 Cor.3:18). The outer edge of each arm is indented in the shape of a “V” for victory through Jesus Christ. The two points at the end of each arm, eight in all, stand for the Eight Beatitudes (Matthew 5:3-10). Between the arms of the cross are four fleurs-de-lis, each with three petals symbolizing the trinity. The twelve petals of the four fleurs-de-lise represent the Twelve Apostles. The lily is also a symbol of the resurrection and the care of God (Matthew6:28). The four open spaces between the arms form four hearts, symbolizing loyalty, the love of Jesus,and the recall of His command to “Love one another.” (John 13:34). The appendage is a descending dove, the symbol of the Holy Spirit, guide and counselor of His Church.